top of page

MCU Takes on the Real Master of the Universe: JESUS


**SPOILER ALERT: DO NOT READ IF YOU INTEND TO SEE INFINITY WAR!

That awkward Jesus joke.

"What master do you serve?"

"Whaddyou want me to say? Jesus?"

Such was an exchange between Tony Stark and Peter Quill/Starlord (Guardians of the Galaxy) in Avengers: Infinity War.

The AMC theater was packed but only some of the audience laughed nervously. Mostly, there was a confused silence as if the rest of the audience was trying to figure out if this was bold faced blasphemy, a really, really flat joke, or some desperate attempt to “address” religion in 10 seconds or less.

My feeling is that it was an ill-advised, shady insult to the very successful string of virtually action-free Christian films. Very unnecessary, since I haven’t heard any insulting lines or disrespectful references to any Hollywood films in any of the Christian/faith-based films that I’ve seen. The “joke “ took me by surprise because I certainly wasn’t expecting Star-Lord to respond that way (I'm not familiar with Guardians of the Galaxy franchise).

I’m going to assume that the writers were attempting to introduce food for thought (because it failed as a joke) since the plot of the film revolves around a misguided maniac trying to “save” lives by destroying only half the world.

As a long time Marvel movie watcher, I am used to watching meglomaniancs trying to take over the entire galaxy. Most of the films do teach thoughtfully crafted and authentic messages about team work, leadership, self-reflection, and even spirituality-in terms of one’s own mortality and leaving a legacy -as opposed to focusing on a particular deity, so the bold use of Jesus' name was a surprise and maybe an epiphany.

Several of the characters are faced with a terrible dilemma: violently lose the one you love or let half the human population die. Sudden death takes out many favorite Marvel characters. The stone that causes the most emotional and physical damage is the “soul” stone. With all this death around it’s no wonder the name of Jesus came up.

Trying to make sense of people dying “before their time” is an exercise in futility. The Bible does not explain “why”, but offers all a way to prepare for and get through these horrendous events. Untimely tragedies affect millions if not billions of people.

There is very little neutral ground when it comes to the name Jesus. Just recently, someone adamantly told me Jesus never existed. Another women related a miraculous tale of healing credited to her belief in Jesus. As a Christian, I do believe in Jesus as the Son of God.

I don’t mind religios discussions or references in movies, but I wish Marvel had shown a touch more class and sensitivity. Unless, of course, this was a brilliant scheme to introduce the deity of Jesus to millions of fans. In that case I think the question is valid,

Which master do YOU serve?

What do you want ME to say?

I’m proud to say, JESUS!

bottom of page