top of page

Hudson Yards Inside Out


The Golden Ticket

I took my first visit to the new Hudson Yards "neighborhood" and like most New Yorkers, was both baffled and bemused by what I discovered.

New York must always be in building mode - as one veteran New Yorker put it to me, "It's called New York for a reason"- so this latest construction craze was not a surprise but the end result is.

The anchor of this neighborhood is the Vessel - an incomprehensible structure that makes you feel like you are the ant in your childhood ant maze. At the same time - in typical New York fashion - it makes you feel like you're on top of the world. You must walk to the top as the elevator is reserved for those with disabilities (which I think is unfair).

Tickets are required to enter the Vessel but they are FREE so please DO NOT BUY a ticket from someone claiming to give you a discount - it's unnecessary. The tickets list a certain time period that you can enter (e.g. 4:15pm - 5:15pm) so make sure that you don't miss your entry time.

While you are waiting you can walk through the Mall - yes, I did say Mall. Anyone who has spent even a weekend in New York knows that New York shopping is glorified street shopping and street shopping in all its glory! New Yorkers like storefronts with addresses, not mall directories. It was relatively empty the day I went. One of the store employees did admit that they preferred the store front locations as opposed to the indoor cocoon.

Even Donald Trump discovered this unique NYC phenomenon as a developer in the 1980's. Although Trump Tower has some shopping, it never dared to compete with the rows of easily accessible stores for every budget up and down 5th Avenue - not to mention the beloved street vendors, always ready to sell an umbrella or handy scarf.

The restrooms also left much to be desired as there was a line and it wasn't clean and there was no tissue. So much for my rest...room.

After that disappointment, I slowly walked to the top on a mild May day and after many breaks to enjoy the various views, I made it! I glared down at the railroad cars pulling into the yard (that's why it's called Hudson Yards) Then I had to walk down again.

It gave me the feeling of being both inside and outside simultaneously -which I'm not sure I like.

So Hudson Yards, a long desired piece of NYC real estate, has finally been transformed but I don't believe its with New Yorkers in mind. "Mall culture" even with an iconic giant attraction like the Vessel still lacks even the appeal of a country fair and a rickety, wooden ferris wheel. This new area is probably for the "New" New Yorkers - people with a lot of money who don't really want to mix with real New Yorkers.

So a bit of the 'burbs has finally encroached on the gritty city but it comes with a heck of a view...of the Mall.

bottom of page